(newbie here) My song got forwarded... now what do I do?

Before you rant, READ THIS!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

hammerstreet

(newbie here) My song got forwarded... now what do I do?

Post by hammerstreet » Fri Sep 11, 2020 1:59 am

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie and so I'm sorry if this question has been asked before. I did try searching in the forums and I couldn't find my question. It seems simple, but I'm not sure what to do (if anything).

My song was forwarded (yay!) for ticket S200623CD, which was one of the Instrumentals For COVID-19 Pandemic Projects tickets. The feedback was good, the certificate looks nice, but now I don't know what to do.

I've been trying to listen to the Taxi podcast in my free time and there's a lot of talk about contacting libraries directly. But the name of the library still hasn't been revealed to me. So do I contact anyone? Do I let them know I'm interested in doing business together? Do I just wait for them to contact me?

I joined Taxi in 2016 and I had 7 songs forwarded that year. I only ever heard back from one library.

Is this common? Perhaps this may come off as naiive, but it's diminishing the value I put in getting a song forwarded. It's a little deflating to get ones hopes up after getting their song forwarded and then to just never hear anything back, not even a rejection from the library, not even a year later. I know they're busy, sure, but it seems as though Taxi has helped them by sorting through lots of songs to find only the best ones. A copy-paste form email might be nice.

Which brings me back to my original question: Am I simply doing this all wrong? Am I missing a step where I need to go out there and email the library?? My polite email writing skills are polished, I'm ready to email a library respectfully. I just can't help feeling like I'm missing a huge step in the process of getting into the music licensing industry via Taxi.

Thanks for any help. Sorry again if this is a repeat question.