Split sheet

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

3162Crew

Split sheet

Post by 3162Crew » Wed May 18, 2022 2:41 am

So I was looking at the $200k song (weren't we all) and other vocal listings and although I have many years of experience with music performance and education, piano performance, harmony, I can't perform pop music or sing to any useful degree, let alone produce a track to make it radio ready. I know some Taxi users have used Airgigs before and I found someone whose vocals, instruments and production seem top notch. He advertises the ability to take a piano sketch and vocal guide and turn it into a song.

So I assume this kind of thing is work for hire based on the profile on Airgigs, and obviously I would confirm that in writing before proceeding. But for a commercial project like this, is it common for someone to charge say $400 as a one off fee for doing literally everything on the track bar composition and be done with it?

Also, if he suggests some changes to the hook or instrumentation that really makes a song and I'm happy to put a split sheet together, does that automatically become a problem for libraries? On a related note, if I find a collaborator who I'm happy to split writers' share 50/50 going forward, can we submit to these listings which often say "you" must control the writer's share?

Thanks for entertaining a newbie here.

Casey H
King of the World
King of the World

Re: Split sheet

Post by Casey H » Wed May 18, 2022 5:05 am

Hi!