with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

mattbee
Active
Active

Drum Software Workflow

Post by mattbee » Wed Aug 17, 2022 2:46 am

Hi all,

I've been tearing my hair out when it comes to programming drums and I'm curious (actually, quite eager) for suggestions or people to share their 'in the box' drum workflow if they would be so kind, (not those that record actual drums).
I've used the Logic Drummer (which from feedback I've received, probably doesn't quite cut it in terms of the strength of the sounds), as well as Splice samples, but I'm not great at actual programming. I understand drums, sure, but I'm a non drummer so an intuitive fill to a drummer or opening up the hats on a certain beat in a groove is a slow process for me, and is probably a weak link in the chain of my compositions.

Any suggestions for ticking both the 'modern (non dated)/broadcast quality sounds' box, as well as the 'gets a non-drummer from point A to point B the quickest/easiest' box? I write indie pop, folk, acoustic styles, as well as newer more synth based modern dance pop.

I've been looking at the latest EZ Drummer 3, Superior Drummer 3, but am open to all suggestions. I'm not terribly bothered about if I don't have 9 mic choices in 12 positions for each part of the kit and would love a simple workflow - but obviously want to use whatever will give professional results. I've still got access to Splice one-shots if I need to create my own kits etc, but keen to hear how everyone goes about it when it comes to the software/sounds and creating the actual parts, whether its starting with midi grooves inside drum software then editing from there, or playing in grooves on a beat pad, or whatever...

Many thanks in advance!

jefflaplante
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Drum Software Workflow

Post by jefflaplante » Wed Aug 17, 2022 6:45 am