(Newbie Here) - First Time Posting - A General Hello

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

GeoffreySchumann

(Newbie Here) - First Time Posting - A General Hello

Post by GeoffreySchumann » Mon Sep 26, 2022 10:44 am

Hello everyone, I wanted to post something on the blogs and introduce myself. I'm Geoffrey Schumann, a seasoned classically and jazz-trained bassist. Before the pandemic struck, I've always fancied myself as an instrumentalist. I started to share my music with others (everyone knows me as "The Bassist"), and from multiple sources, I was told I needed to get my music "out there" as it was good enough for soundtracks, etc., and here I am at Taxi.

I was a bit surprised when I discovered I had to pay $5.00 per track to upload it for the opportunity (which has curbed me from doing so), as on another platform (Beatclub), I don't have to pay to submit. The one time I did decide to submit, it was shot down, but I did receive some interesting feedback (which the other platform does not do upon a submission that was denied)...

So with that said, what should a newbie do here? What is the best practice for song submissions, and is there ever a time when we don't have to pay the $5.00 per track submission fee? All this builds into me "should I renew" question that is floating in the back of my head.

I want to get my music placed, and I'm just looking for advice.

I've added tracks to my profile to give everyone an idea of what I do. I truly appreciate any feedback, and hello to all!

Telefunkin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: (Newbie Here) - First Time Posting - A General Hello

Post by Telefunkin » Tue Sep 27, 2022 1:56 am

Hi, with your music background it sounds like you're in a great position to start making inroads. Just a few suggestions on how you might enjoy progressing a little faster: