Question about mastering

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

DAmaditz

Question about mastering

Post by DAmaditz » Thu Sep 29, 2022 5:40 am

Hi I'm not new to recording but I am new to post production skills like mastering. Some questions:

- Is it typical for each track within a song to be mastered and EQ'd separately BEFORE a general mastering of the song as a whole?

-Does mastering have to be done to the song as a whole if it was already done to each individual track within the song?

-Is mastering a recording generally a matter of compressing it and equalizing it appropriately? Are there other aspects to mastering besides these?

Sorry, I probably sound pretty green about it! Any information would be appreciated :)

Telefunkin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Question about mastering

Post by Telefunkin » Thu Sep 29, 2022 8:47 am

Hi, I suggest starting by finding out what the term 'mastering' means. There's an absolute shed load of information online, for example
https://www.izotope.com/en/learn/what-is-mastering.html
That should answer some of your questions and clear up some confusion you seem to have.
DAmaditz wrote:
Thu Sep 29, 2022 5:40 am
- Is it typical for each track within a song to be mastered and EQ'd separately BEFORE a general mastering of the song as a whole?
No. Separate tracks within a song are not mastered. They are often treated with EQ and perhaps many other processors whilst mixing, but its the final mixed song that is mastered, not the individual tracks.
DAmaditz wrote:
-Does mastering have to be done to the song as a whole if it was already done to each individual track within the song?
It is done to the song as a whole, not to individual tracks.
DAmaditz wrote:
-Is mastering a recording generally a matter of compressing it and equalizing it appropriately? Are there other aspects to mastering besides these?