I put myself in "the Driver's seat - what I found out

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

waltergrund
Impressive
Impressive

I put myself in "the Driver's seat - what I found out

Post by waltergrund » Thu Jan 05, 2023 9:37 am

Happy new year everyone!

Writing this little article was one of my to-do-topics on my 2022-list, so it's time to get it done; it takes a while to roll out the whole story, but stay with me... :D

My friend A. turned 50 this year; I knew her since I was 13 and we used to have the same guitar teacher and played together in guitar ensembles etc. until we got out of school in Germany.
She studied law and became I judge, I studied music and became a musician. We got ouf of touch for 20 years and when I got in contact again, I learned that she sits in a wheel chair and needs full-care due to MS. I was devasted when I met her again after 25 years
>Now, in 2022, she turned 50 and invited my wife and me to celebrate. The guests were asked to do simple recordings of wishes, infos or whatever since she can't move her hands anymore to read or hold a book herself, but she loves to listen to audiobooks.

I gave it some thought and as the deadline approached, I decided to use a funny brand-new book that I just read; it isn't available as Audiobook so far. It's from a fairly unknown comedian. The book consists of short chapters of dialogues of a baker and his customer. So I thought it would be cool to read some of the chapters with my wife and record them. Of course, I would add some of my music and thought of mandolin-tracks. I just started to reactivate my mandolin skills in summer.

When we recorded the dialogue I wanted it to be most comfortable for us, without much hardware, software and time to spend on technical stuff. It had to be fun for us, too!