New member; annoyed at myself for misinterpreting...

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

fernandoGM

New member; annoyed at myself for misinterpreting...

Post by fernandoGM » Wed Dec 28, 2022 10:35 am

Hello.
My name is Fernando. I’m brand new at Taxi and here at the forum.

I sent my first list submission a couple of weeks ago, and frankly, I’m quite annoyed at myself for having misinterpreted the intended meaning of “roughly 2 to 3 minutes long, give or take”

I figured that anything that clocked 2:something or 3:something was fine, especially since they would also want 60 and 30-second cuts out of the complete version (I do understand those must be precisely 60/30-second edits).

My 3 pieces were around 3:33, 3:49 and 3:56 minutes long, and judging by the critique I got, that seems to be the reason they were rejected.

If length was important, why use subjective words like “roughly” and “give or take” in the listing? Wouldn’t it be clearer if the wording read something like “between 2 and 3 minutes”, or “no longer than 3 minutes”?

So I did learn my lesson! From now on I’ll aim for something in the middle of what is asked. Does that sound reasonable/safe for next time?
Has something annoying like this happened to you?

Based on the music and the critique, would it be reasonable for me to think that, had they been 30 or 40 seconds shorter, at least one would have been forwarded? Or would that be wishful thinking? I'm not sure what to make out of the other two brief comments.

If I shorten them, and I find a very similar listing, would I have a chance, or do you hear any other issues I should fix?
I wrote them with a few built-in pauses for easy edit points, but now I’m second-guessing myself...

Thank you for your thoughts or any comments.

These are the 3 pieces I sent:

https://www.taxi.com/members/fkE9z8wtTM ... o-kate-liu

https://www.taxi.com/members/fkE9z8wtTM ... lga-scheps