Considering an artist name to separate film/tv work from my other project

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

collinjames

Considering an artist name to separate film/tv work from my other project

Post by collinjames » Wed Mar 29, 2023 10:24 am

Hi all, I'm new to TAXI (though I've been haunting the listings for a while and learning how to compose this kind of music for awhile now) and I'm wondering if it's possible to separate my film/tv and other music career (as a live performer), mainly for branding purposes. My main reason for doing this would be so a cue in an unrelated style/genre to my singer-songwriter project (which is under my birth name) wouldn't end up being listed in the credits if, say, I were to get a movie placement. I know, I know, that sounds very particular of me, but I see my two projects as separate entities — one as a music/composer/scoring service, the other as singer-songwriter/personal expression project — and would like to keep them that way). I know that, in a recent episode of TAXI TV, this kind of thing is discouraged but it seems to be the best method for me personally since I don't want tension/dramedy/trap cues being linked to my singer-songwriter music, which is totally different.
In any case, I'm wondering about the particulars of this kind of thing. Will I just have to register a small business and link that artist name (for film/TV work) to my PRO account? Thanks in advance to anyone taking the time to answer this question (especially if it's already been asked a million times)!

jdstamper
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Considering an artist name to separate film/tv work from my other project

Post by jdstamper » Sat Apr 01, 2023 7:19 pm

There is a website and YouTube channel Make Music Income https://www.youtube.com/@MakeMusicIncome where this has been discussed ... creating different types of music and putting it out under different brands.