Getting the most out of reference tracks and feedback.

Feedback on Taxi's current listings.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

prizzi
Active
Active

Getting the most out of reference tracks and feedback.

Post by prizzi » Tue May 23, 2023 5:58 pm

Hello,

I am fairly new to Taxi and I have watched many of Taxi's videos and tutorials from other members. I am still learning a lot. One of the most valuable pieces of help is the forwards blog. Lately I have been making use of listening to the forwarded listings in order to improve my next submission.

A little bit of perspective here.....
For the past year or so I have made it my goal to write at least one dramedy track a week. Last summer I wrote 20 tracks and I am continuing on this year. A mentor of mine who has many taxi forwards suggested I hone in on one genre at first. This has been great advice and I am now concentrating on both Tension and Dramedy specifically. I did have one forward for a piano instrumental so I was excited about that one.

Anyway, a few years ago I got serious about this sync thing. I invested in NI Komplete as well as some new hardware. I also joined TAXI. I realize this is a slow process and it takes time to really get the hang of making your music effective. I feel I am getting a bit stale with some of my dramedy tracks.
I watch TV and listen, I read sync music books and I listen to the TAXI Youtube videos.

Whenever I get a return I look at my feedback also. I am finding that sometimes feedback moves me in a certain direction then I get off of into the weeds with developing my ideas. I get bogged down and doubt if what I am working on is any good for the listing. Then I go back to the forwards blog and think wow, those forwards are spot on!

In other words a new track gets off to a good start and then I find I am not sounding similar (sonically) to the forwarded tracks.