Looking for a bit of an uplift

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

davidagates
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Looking for a bit of an uplift

Post by davidagates » Wed May 31, 2023 1:15 pm

Hi guys,

I've not been massively active on here, in all honesty it's so hard being a Dad, working fulltime and trying to improve and write to try and find the time to get on and have proper conversations with people. I've decided I'm going to allot myself a period of time each week to do just that though.

The reason for my post, first and foremost, is to ask how long it was before you had something forwarded. I've got a bit of an "imposter syndrome" problem, I've no musical training, background or any of that, I'm just (objectively I think) good at writing music. I've only submitted 4 times so far, each have been a no, for differing reasons, nothing too bad, but the latest one caught me at a bit of a moment. I'm tired, trying everything I can to make my dream come true and it just doesn't seem to be jelling.

Perhaps I just need to suck it up and keep hammering away, what is you advise? What would you recommend I do?

Thanks

Dave
Check out Crowbar Soundscapes on #SoundCloud
https://on.soundcloud.com/Uovqv

melodea
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Looking for a bit of an uplift

Post by melodea » Thu Jun 01, 2023 12:40 am

Hi Dave

I was in the exact same boat 2 1/2 years ago (child, family, job etc), with the exception that I have a music and sound engineering education. My first submission was a forward so I thought, hey, easy peasy until the next eleven returns put me right back into reality showing me that despite all my musical experiences my knowledge about production music was far from enough to succeed in that game!