Some success, with reservations..

Did you get a deal through TAXI? Lets hear about it!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

kazr88

Some success, with reservations..

Post by kazr88 » Mon Nov 13, 2023 6:01 pm

I've been plugging away at this for a few years now. I've had a lot of forwards, signed about 10 tracks plus 2 whole albums. I've enjoyed trying all sorts of genres and have signed hiphop, epic trailer, electro, lounge, solo piano and a few others. Only trouble is I haven't seen any sign of these tracks with my PRO Apra in Australia yet, or a single sign of any royalties. It's been over a year for some of them. Is this normal? I know if things start to (hopefully) pop I'll become enthusiastic again but I'm starting to lose my mojo! Of course my insecurity says "I guess my music isn't good enough" but I guess these companies signed the tracks because they believe in them...

Casey H
King of the World
King of the World

Re: Some success, with reservations..

Post by Casey H » Mon Nov 13, 2023 6:40 pm

It's a very slow moving business. You might get placements in weeks, months, years, or never. All you can do is keep feeding more tracks to libraries. Write, Submit, Forget, Repeat. The more tracks you have out there, the better your chances.

Not all libraries register tracks with PROs routinely. Some do, some only register if there is a placement or a pitch with good chances of placement.

The fact that you got forwards and deals means you are doing something right! :D

:) Casey

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by cosmicdolphin » Tue Nov 14, 2023 12:05 am

kazr88 wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2023 6:01 pm
Is this normal?
With only 30 tracks in the system it is somewhat normal but as ever " it depends "

I could give "Library A" 30 tracks and get little to no placements across a period of years ( true story ) and they don't register anything because there are no placements to register for.