Feel Like Losing Faith In Yourself!

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ernstinen
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: Feel Like Losing Faith In Yourself!

Post by ernstinen » Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:16 am

Quote:it's funny. i'm a music teacher, but i studied performance in a pretty good university and on the first day of school, the music program director sat us down in the huge auditorium and welcomed all the new students with a question: "what the hell are you studying music for? you're very intelligent people; you could be lawyers, doctors, engineers, businesspeople . . . so many more practical and pragmatic paths. why are you [essentially] taking your education to buy a lottery ticket in this music industry?" needless to say, as a first year (first DAY!!) student, this was a bit daunting being the same thing i've heard from parents/teachers/etc when i told them i was going to be a musician. only this time, it was the guy who i was dumping THOUSANDS into teaching me! anyway, after a bit of silence and awkwardness in the auditorium, he answered in an almost hushed tone: "because we have to. it's who we are; part of us" Heheh! I had a similar experience (without the piece of wisdom at the end):My first teacher in the UCLA film scoring program summed up his experience for us like this --- "The highlight of writing a score is to hear it being performed on the soundstage by a professional orchestra. It's all downhill from there. The film's producer, director, music editor etc. all get involved and rip your art to pieces. You end up with a shell of your creative vision. It's a terrible, dog-eat-dog profession to get into."We sat in stunned silence. I give him credit for steering me into composing concert music.Ern

zink
Impressive
Impressive

Post by zink » Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:37 pm