Your Online Presence

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: Your Online Presence

Post by hummingbird » Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:49 pm

Jan 22, 2009, 8:28pm, southpaw wrote:Quote:I'm a composer and I have a site dedicated to my film music where I will send anyone interested in hearing tracks for film/tv. It didn't cost the earth to set up, either. Hostbaby has very affordable monthly rates and you can get a domain through Godaddy for 10 or 20 bucks a year. All set up, it costs me about $140 a year for a very professional looking site I can refer music publishers to... or I can post tracks and send links to those tracks via email.Yea i have a few domains through godaddy, it is quite cheap, long as the domain you want isnt a 'premium domain'. Its funny, they wanted to charge me over $2000 for soundscope.com, so i went with soundscope.net for $10 a year... They've got a pretty simple site builder that comes with the package for like $5 a month including hosting which is pretty cool.Quote:This is separate from my 'artist' site where I post works in progress, have my blog, etc etc. I'm also on Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, and a myriad of other sites... but that's networking.Theres so many dang social networking sites out there, i must have over a dozen accounts with these kinds of sites. I only really keep up with about half of them tho. Networking on these sites cant hurt. I dont think you could really consider it 'marketing' in the typical business sense. For you as a composer recruiting the right kind of people to come listen to your music on your site for the purpose of film/tv placement, social networking might be more advantageous than say one band or artist in a few million who wants people to 'come hear my music'. CheersI own 3 .com domains, each one is $20 a year. Hostbaby is perfect for me, as it hosts music & I can connect it with CD Baby if I wish.I do social networking... primarly to conn