Another copyright question

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

matthoggard
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Another copyright question

Post by matthoggard » Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:14 pm

I just got my copyright registration in the mail for a song I wrote a little while ago.I was all proud and happy. Im pretty new to the whole "official" copyright thing.Sure enough a few hours later I suddenly have an epiphany and RE-WRITE the song with a better pre-chorus and chorus.Its all the same, Ive just rearranged a couple lines and split a chorus into a pre-chorus/chorus with 1 more key change.If i copyright the new version how should I copyright it? PA with exclusions from the early version? Or just SR the recording of the new version?i dont know.M~

mojobone
King of the World
King of the World

Re: Another copyright question

Post by mojobone » Sat Jan 03, 2009 8:45 pm

If you didn't change the verse or chorus melody, it may qualify as a derivative work, thereby obviating the need to re-register, but better safe than sorry, IMO. I am not an attorney.
The Straight Stuff; Roots, Rock & Soul

http://twangfu.wordpress.com
http://twitter.com/mojo_bone

yammer107
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Another copyright question

Post by yammer107 » Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:10 am