*INTRODUCTION*

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

nickbatzdorf
Impressive
Impressive

*INTRODUCTION*

Post by nickbatzdorf » Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:32 am

Hello, Nick Batzdorf here. Taxi Pres. Michael Laskow has asked me to come moderate this forum, and I'm looking forward to this very much. Hopefully I can be of some help to you and vice versa.As an introduction, my background is that I've been a composer/producer/project studio engineer/musician for years. These days I'm mainly working on music for on-air promotion (TV trailers for the networks), and I write for Mix magazine a lot, am going to be teaching a course in advanced MIDI sequencing techniques at UCLA Extension, plus I have some other things up my sleeve that you'll hear about shortly. Taxi members of longer standing may know me from having been the editor of Recording magazine for 10-1/2 years.I majored in Film Composition at Berklee College of Music immediately before the digital revolution of the '80s, so I was able to concentrate on music while I was there - a real blessing, because nowadays there's a lot more to learn all at once. But right away I got involved with music technology, and at this point I know way too much trivia (along with the useful information!) for a person with a life. All the while I was composing, orchestrating, playing (I play about six instruments, depending on how you count them), and so on.But enough about me. Please feel to post anything to do with your productions - questions, techniques, tips, advice, dissent, arguments, recommendations...whatever issues you have with recording, technology, and production. You know the rules: keep your punches up, and no hitting on the break.-- Nick Batzdorf

jtblues33

Re: *INTRODUCTION*

Post by jtblues33 » Fri Jul 23, 2004 12:50 pm