Quandary about song submissions....

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

chetnichols

Quandary about song submissions....

Post by chetnichols » Mon Oct 26, 2020 1:06 pm

Hi Folks,

So, I am in a quandary about some of the Taxi song submission procedures. I have been a long-time, singer-songwriter (ASCAP) and publisher (ASCAP). I have been copyrighting songs since the very early 1960's. Rule-of-thumb has been to always copyright a song, then, at the time I produced my first album, I became an ASCAP writer and Publisher. Of course, most of us do this to protect our songs and our interest in the songs.

Then, along the way, the Internet appears and those of us who aggressively began to find ways to use the Internet to move our songs around and make them available to local, national and global audiences....so we looked for others who could assist us. This spawned places like CD Baby, Tunecore....etc....to appear and helped us with digital distribution. I joined with CD Baby and then switched to Tunecore and then LEFT them and went back to CD Baby to handle my 35+ albums' digital distribution. When the PRO CDBaby service appeared, I upped my songs to that service to help with the distribution of the songs and also with the collection of royalties and residuals. It is, after all, a BIG planet.

I was a very early member of Taxi when it first appeared, but I left for many years and only recently came back to Taxi.

My main quandary is that with MANY of the song submissions they come with this stipulation: "You’ll split any upfront sync fees 50/50. They’ll get 100% of the Publisher’s share, and you’ll get 100% of the Writer’s share. ["You must own or control your Master and Copyright. Since this is an EXCLUSIVE deal, please be sure the material you submit for this pitch is NOT already signed with other Libraries or Catalogs."