question about a contract I have with a music library

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

question about a contract I have with a music library

Post by 3920 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:10 pm

I have had one of my songs placed in TV with a music library and am wondering if I should see about getting out of the contract. They placed one song that was used last November in TV and are telling me I will be paid by this Oct or Nov. but never have told me how much money or any other information. My contract states that I will be paid quarterly and I thought I would be paid by last March 1st but they are saying they had not collected the money yet..it was placed in another country..blah blah. I'm new at this contract business but I'm feeling that it might be best to move on but I'm not sure how complicated it is to get out of a contract I signed. If anyone has any suggestions for me that knows more about this part of the music business I would appreciate any feedback. I signed this contract several years ago and this was my first song placement with this company.

davewalton
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: question about a contract I have with a music library

Post by davewalton » Thu Jun 28, 2012 6:45 pm