RE: Critiques

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

gjohnson

RE: Critiques

Post by gjohnson » Sun Jul 15, 2007 7:49 am

I got my first critique back from reviewer #34 and it did not help me much. IT seemed to be more of a generic letter about the industry than it did pertaining to the song. The song was not forwarded but am not sure if a simple correction lyrically would fix the problem. I already have a re-write of the chorus ready and a back-up rewrite if that is needed. I am new to taxi, although I have been writing for awhile.

davewalton
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: RE: Critiques

Post by davewalton » Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:49 am

Quote: I got my first critique back from reviewer #34 and it did not help me much. IT seemed to be more of a generic letter about the industry than it did pertaining to the song. The song was not forwarded but am not sure if a simple correction lyrically would fix the problem. I already have a re-write of the chorus ready and a back-up rewrite if that is needed. I am new to taxi, although I have been writing for awhile. Not all reviews are eye-openers. I've found that while I have had a few single eye-opening critiques, mostly I've monitored the effectiveness of my tracks by using kind of a concensus of the critiques overall. Usually starting with a half-dozen or so critiques, a pattern will emerge and you'll have something tangible to proceed with. Then hopefully, whatever it is that's coming to the forefront, is something that will slowly disappear from the critique radar as you work on those issues.

gjohnson

Post by gjohnson » Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:55 am

Thanks, I was going to wait and see what the other reviewers had to say before the re-write.

dlf

Post by dlf » Thu Aug 02, 2007 6:57 am