Return on Listing S240228GM

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

TimWalter
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Return on Listing S240228GM

Post by TimWalter » Sat Mar 09, 2024 12:25 pm

Hello Taxi Family

I have been away from Taxi for a little over 6 years. In the interim I moved to Nashville and have been working hard on my singer-songwriter artist career. Ive grown my following to a modest amount (7000+ on IG, 5000+ on FB, 3000 to 10,000 monthly listeners on Spotify, depending on the month.) Artist name is Tim Wolf (TheTim Wolf on socials).

Thought I would give Taxi a try again. While back in 2016=2017 time frame I was writing and producing everything myself, now I have evolved to co-writing and using a veteran producer and on occasion pro musicians for my releases.

This listing is for a Nashville publisher who is looking for 90's country songs for one of their young artists.

While I am not really a country artist (more in the Alternative or Americana vibe), some of my songs I do consider they would work as at least Alt Country. I mean, Tracy Chapman wrote a song in the 90s that went to number one as a country song, so genre barriers definitely have come down.

I submitted 3 songs for this listing. All three were written with pro long time Nashvile writers, and had pro musicians play on them and were produced and mixed by my 30 year veteran pro producer I have been using. These three songs (and others we wrote) were written with the express intent to get cuts from Nashville artists, but of all ones we wrote I liked these three enough to record and put them out myself.

The return that really puzzles is the one for "Red Dirt". https://timwolf.ffm.to/reddirt

I get it if the vibe is not what they are looking for, perhaps its not 90s country enough. Not original enough, not fresh enough, all comments I could understand.
-----
But Screener 368 had this to say:
I think you could improve your song by: