Reviewer setup

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

chartzog
Active
Active

Reviewer setup

Post by chartzog » Sun Mar 10, 2024 9:12 pm

Hi there,

I am just beginning to dip my toes into the world of submitting music to Taxi listings. I was wondering if any of you guys know what the Taxi reviewer’s technical setup is for doing reviews in terms of audio quality and consistency from reviewer to reviewer?

Thanks!

Chris

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Reviewer setup

Post by cosmicdolphin » Mon Mar 11, 2024 1:40 am

chartzog wrote:
Sun Mar 10, 2024 9:12 pm
I was wondering if any of you guys know what the Taxi reviewer’s technical setup is for doing reviews in terms of audio quality and consistency from reviewer to reviewer?
In the old days they ued to work at Taxi HQ in little booths each equipped with a set of the same headphones ( I forget which ones ) but post Covid I believe they mostly work remotely so will each have their own set up. What I would say is, it doesn't really matter and if you're trying to second guess this stuff you're barking up the wrong tree.

Persoanlly I can tell just as easily on pair of basic earbuds that came free with my phone as I can on my £1k studio monitors in my treated room whether I think a piece is suitable or not - the fidelity of the playback system is not a concern. A well written , well mixed track will sound good on anything.

Mark

Telefunkin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by Telefunkin » Mon Mar 11, 2024 3:21 am

..... and, Taxi screeners are only the first step. What about the library, what about the music supervisors and editors, what about the TV listeners? They'll all be listening on different kit. Basically, the music has to sound good on everything, and that's the whole point of mixing/mastering on a neutral system but also having alternative monitoring set-ups for comparison and to ensure the best translation.