Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Stubee
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Reworked and would appreciate Critique

Post by Stubee » Fri Jul 16, 2021 3:33 pm

https://soundcloud.com/stu-thaler/whisk ... e-table-20

Thanks to some awesome Taxi members who gave me great feedback on this tune
I think I was able to make improve this song. I'm sure that there is more that I can do
so If there is anyone out there who can critique this blues song I would really appreciate it.
Please be brutally honest. I never get offended with honest feedback. I am a rookie here at Taxi
and my goal is to improve my song writing ability and production skills.

Thank you,
Stu

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Reworked and would appreciate Critique

Post by cosmicdolphin » Fri Jul 16, 2021 3:52 pm

It sounds like a cleaner mix than the previous time, so I think there is a definite improvement in the production.

I'm still getting a sense of things being out of time though, I think it's the guitar which is out to the drums bass. Not sure what's happened there whether it's a latency issue during recording or something else ?

Also I would generally expect better instrument sounds, the guitar tone is pretty nondescript and the drums and bass sound rather generic so the whole thing is a bit flaccid.

You could easily throw something like EZbass & EzDrummer at this and it would instantly improve matters IMHO.

Mark

Stubee
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Post by Stubee » Fri Jul 16, 2021 5:04 pm

Thank you Cosmic dolphin!! I dropped the LogicPro drummer and went with Steven Slate.
Is EzDrummer better? If so, I will purchase it. I was using a click track so it might be latency
but I'll check. I used a Les Paul guitar and a Epiphone Beatle bass but I plugged them in directly.
Do you recommend using mics on amps instead? I didn't quantize the bass and the 2 Rhythm guitars
to the drums. Maybe I should try that first.

I am sooo grateful for your help!!

Thank you,
Stu

gitanosoy