Screening a little confusing

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

PeterGreggMusic

Screening a little confusing

Post by PeterGreggMusic » Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:15 am

I admit I am new to submitting music here, so green is a good place to admit I am at. So far all my submissions are rejections. What is confusing to me is this: The difference between a submitted song that may fit another listing, verses a song that is below the mark of probably ever getting forwarded.

I'm thinking a screener hears a song and besides screening for that listing gets the underlying thought "this song will never get a listing EVER". Before I spend a year submitting the song it would be nice to have a box they can check that effectively says a song will never have a chance - EVER lol.

I think a lot of people here can sit and re-record a song because of home equipment. I don't play anything so I have to send a song to a demo company so making little refinements can be beyond what I can pay. Basically I have an inventory that I will be submittng over and over. If a song is likely below par, a box that says that would be nice I think. Maybe not, what do you think?

The other thing, it is odd that there is no "Ballad" category. The screeners refer to that word often in what they write about a listing, but there isn't a "Ballad" category itself.

Peter

TerrellBurt
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Screening a little confusing

Post by TerrellBurt » Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:43 pm

Hey and welcome to the boards! Try using the Peer To Peer forum at http://forums.taxi.com/peer-to-peer-f20.html to get critique on your songs before you submit them to listings.

And also utilize the Collaboration Corner forum. There are talented people that play instruments here so you don't necessarily have to use a demo company.

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by hummingbird » Thu Apr 23, 2015 4:03 pm