songwriter submissions

Songwriting, songwriters, etc

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

staten

songwriter submissions

Post by staten » Sat May 04, 2019 3:37 am

Hi everyone I am new to TAXI. I am a songwriter, not a performing artist with enough musical skills and vocal skills to put together a good demo. My question is how to get to submissions that are looking for demos of the type I can produce for other artists to perform as opposed to submissions that require finished or broadcast quality recordings. Thank you.

sherrylynnlee
Active
Active

Re: songwriter submissions

Post by sherrylynnlee » Mon May 13, 2019 4:22 pm

Hi Staten. Welcome!

It sounds like you want to submit to artist pitches. It will typically say at the very top that the client is an A&R Exec or Producer or artist. At the very end it will say that your song needs to be good enough to represent your song. See bolded sections below. Note that, while it says demos are OK, some genres probably would require the demo to be pretty close to a full production. Best way to learn is to start submitting :-)

Here's an example:

CONTEMPORARY POP SONGS with Female Vocals are needed by a Major Label A&R Executivefor a newly signed, up-and-coming International Artist.

NOTE: If your song is accepted, this label gives 100% of the buyout fee to the song’s songwriter/producer, which normally ranges from $800 - $1000.

They’re looking for Mid-to-Up-Tempo Songs in the general stylistic ballpark of artists like (but not limited to) Hailee Steinfeld, Madison Beer, Zara Larsson, etc., etc., etc. Please listen to the following references to get a feel for the style they need:

“Most Girls” by Hailee Steinfeld

“Hurts Like Hell” by Madison Beer Ft. Offset

“Don't Worry Bout Me” by Zara Larsson