Sound banks from the web, downloading to Protools

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Rosewinters4

Sound banks from the web, downloading to Protools

Post by Rosewinters4 » Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:15 pm

Hey all! I've been producing for years but I have some serious newbie gaps in my knowledge. For example, I have Protools and have only ever used their virtual instrument sound banks. I now am ready to (gasp) expand my horizons. It all came down to a calliope. I couldn't find the sound. Protools didn't have one. I even searched the web. No luck. So, my brilliant friends, how do I add sound banks to my daw? I recently saw a Taxi TV where they discussed free sound banks. But how do I get them to talk to Protools? Sorry, I know this is a beginner question. I am just confused.

Kind of embarrassed, but trusting in my Taxi friends. This is my first time on a forum too. God I feel old!
Have an awesome day!
Rose

lesmac
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Sound banks from the web, downloading to Protools

Post by lesmac » Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:59 pm

You need another virtual instrument like this one;

https://www.native-instruments.com/en/p ... -download/

Then search for libraries of sounds that are compatible to use with it. It comes loaded with some freebies.

It runs in Pro Tools as a 3rd party plugin. All Pro Tools plugins are AAX so make sure when you download any plugs that you install the AAX at least.

You can do a search of compatible plugins for Pro Tools. There are a lot of great free ones out there. Just do a back up of your system before you install anything so you can wind back if the plugins somehow cause any trouble. It's not really a common occurrence, more of a safe practice.

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by cosmicdolphin » Sat Jun 20, 2020 1:48 pm