Studying Composition

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

gregorym
Impressive
Impressive

Studying Composition

Post by gregorym » Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:58 pm

Does anyone have suggestions for books, videos or any education material that deal with the subject of music composition?

I have a few books on the subject, but I don't have any videos. Any resource that really got you excited, please share.

Thanks,
Greg

Kolstad
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Studying Composition

Post by Kolstad » Sun Jul 07, 2019 12:27 am

What kind of music are you writing?
Ceo of my own life

gregorym
Impressive
Impressive

Post by gregorym » Sun Jul 07, 2019 5:48 am

Kolstad wrote:
Sun Jul 07, 2019 12:27 am
What kind of music are you writing?
Hi Kolstad! :)

I wrote rock, latin, one hip hop, attempted EDM, and some others. I'm a beginner writer. My best work is when I collaborate with others, which makes me think I need another person to write music that is good. I'm amazed at the level of talent here at taxi, and when I say talent, that takes into account everything: writing, performing, production, the whole enchilada. It's awesome! I love it. I enjoy listening to what other members produce. I'm hoping I get there.

Oh, I can't write songs (music with words). I write instrumentals. Some day I want to try writing songs, but until then, I need to find my niche within production music.

Philly Rock - A Collaboration
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DyypI6BUpxQ

Memory Lane - A Collaboration
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGGHKin4tFI

I just updated my soundcloud.
https://soundcloud.com/gammasign

I take critiques. Help me.

Thanks,
Greg

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by cosmicdolphin » Sun Jul 07, 2019 7:12 am

I would say you don't need great composition chops for Music Licensing unless you are writing orchestral music.