TAXI hosting: why 128kps?

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

flyingtadpole
Impressive
Impressive

TAXI hosting: why 128kps?

Post by flyingtadpole » Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:57 am

Dear Aunt TaxiHaving had to tweak an upload a bit, I suddenly realised everything is streaming at 128 kps, not at 192kps. As a newbie, I find this worrying, and potentially to the disadvantage of anyone submitting electronically through the Taxi hosting. Everything I put up, or am likely to put up, is stuff for those "Broadcast quality needed" listings, film, TV and so on. By definition, 128kps is not broadcast quality. The difference between 128 and 192 is quite audible especially if you're dealing with things like synth strings.If I submit electronically via the Taxi hosting, are the screeners going to be listening to 128 from my Taxi hosting, and 192 (CD quality) from those with a physical CD submitted?If a song is forwarded, is it forwarded in 128 or in 192?It's not that I have a choice here, I set up a Broadjam account for electronic submission just before I paid my dues, and just before Taxi stopped accepting submissions via Broadjam (which of course runs at up to 192kps). (Immaculately bad timing has always been a major feature of my life, along with a sequence of lost causes....)Mailing is prohibitively expensive for me and ultra slow (I'm in Australia). (Sgd) Anxious beginner

mazz
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: TAXI hosting: why 128kps?

Post by mazz » Wed Apr 04, 2007 12:22 pm