The Amp Sim thread !!

Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

japaneseprincess
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

The Amp Sim thread !!

Post by japaneseprincess » Wed May 05, 2010 4:49 pm

ok, folks.. there are many many posts about guitar amp sims on this forum, but its everywhere and im too lazy to look for them. ha ha.

as Michael made a new gear section, i thought we can just gather recommended guitar amp sims here, maybe with some tracks if you want.

i've been asked what i use for my guitar sound sooo many times (its a good thing 8-) 8-) ), i dont like repeating myself everytime someone asks me, so i hope everyone can get some good information here.

as some of you know, im a big fan of Pro Tools, so some of the plugs i use is only for PT.

there are 4 main amp sims I use, they are SansAmp (PT only), POD Farm (free ver.), GTR3, Eleven LE (PT only).

I dont use presets that comes with these, i tweak a lot and save my own presets.. But every song is different, so i tweak them again. oh, i cut A LOT of BASS when im using distortioon to give bass guitar more space. cos amp sim distortion is so bassy, if you double track it gets even more bassy so i cut it a lot. but not too much !

im seriously digging POD farm, so im thinking of upgrading it to Platinum version. POD Farm is my favourite cos its so versatile. i use it for all my recent forwaded tracks.

SansAmp, its sh!tty compared to the rest BUT i use this a lot. im using only sansamp in this paramore type track http://www.reverbnation.com/tunepak/2484874
plus feedback from a small amp (microcube). the mix is bit rough, i wanted to get rid of bassy guitars but i havent done it yet !

GTR3, i use stomp boxes more than amps. i automate these effects for more complex sound.

Eleven LE (full ver.), loads of good distortion in this one... love it !

Let the geekfest begin.

What do you use?

Kolstad
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: The Amp Sim thread !!