Throw Me a Bone here

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ephlat66
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Throw Me a Bone here

Post by ephlat66 » Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:09 pm

Hi all-I've read these forums enough to know that whining creates backlash, and that what I should be about is pitching songs rather than pitching a fit. However, to quote Def Leppard, "I got somethin' ta say!"Over the last week or two, I've asked for feedback on a number of tracks, and in a few cases asked if tracks were a match for specific listings. I wonder if you'd allow me to indulge in a couple of observations and questions in this regard.By way of introduction: I have been writing and recording for the last two or three years, and I am not entering this game early in life. I began this endevour knowing nothing about the music business, but with a strong desire and enough chutzpa to make the attempt in spite of the people who've told me my whole life that I'm crazy for even considering it. It is my fondest dream to become a master of this stuff, and I am well aware that though I have progressed a great deal to this point, there is a learning curve yet. And praise God that's true! If I reach a point where there's nothing more to learn, then it's time to find something else to do.So, having said all that:First observation: Of all the people who've given feedback, only two have ever had the balls to post a link and brace themselves for very tough (albeit very necessary) criticism. In looking up the posts for all the others, the only thing they've ever done is criticize. So c'mon guys! Nut up and put yourself out there!Second observation: I have discovered that even the folks on this forum who are veterans ask for feedback, and often with respect to what they are planning to submit for specific listings. I find this to be highly instructive as well as encouraging.Now, a question or two:Humminbird (whose beautiful music I LOVE!) commented that I should become familiar