Total Newb - Where to Start?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

danconnolly

Total Newb - Where to Start?

Post by danconnolly » Wed Nov 10, 2021 5:03 pm

A friend is submitting a few band songs into the Vintage category. He's a member and I'm trying to figure out where to start (mainly Instrumental cues at this point). Does anyone have a suggestion on how to get the Taxi ball rolling? Such as:

1) Should I hook up with a PRO first?
2) Study contracts - which are most important, how many do I need to know?
3) Etc.

Any feedback on what should happen first is much appreciated.

Thanks!
"Because life is better with music."

cassmcentee
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Total Newb - Where to Start?

Post by cassmcentee » Wed Nov 10, 2021 7:35 pm

Hello and Welcome.
Start by searching here to do your homework: https://www.youtube.com/c/TaxiIndependentAR/videos
Robert "Cass" McEntee
"Making music on a spinning ball of Magma"
https://soundcloud.com/robert-cass-mcentee
https://www.taxi.com/members/DosPalmasRecordings

danconnolly

Post by danconnolly » Wed Nov 10, 2021 8:33 pm

Hi Robert,

Thanks for the resource. Much appreciated.

Dan

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by hummingbird » Thu Nov 11, 2021 5:19 am

danconnolly wrote:
Wed Nov 10, 2021 5:03 pm
A friend is submitting a few band songs into the Vintage category. He's a member and I'm trying to figure out where to start (mainly Instrumental cues at this point). Does anyone have a suggestion on how to get the Taxi ball rolling? Such as:

1) Should I hook up with a PRO first?
2) Study contracts - which are most important, how many do I need to know?
3) Etc.

Any feedback on what should happen first is much appreciated.

Thanks!