trying to become a better producer

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

bluezcruizer

trying to become a better producer

Post by bluezcruizer » Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:06 am

Hi all! This is such a great forum with so much great information. And to be able to work with industry gurus to boot -- I'm a new member (less than 1 yr) to TAXI, and have selectively posted about 5 different songs from my catalog. I'm getting pretty decent scores on my music, but am getting consistent feedback that my production quality is lacking, as well as some songs using older patches.I've since upgraded my system (software, hardware, and VST's) and am really happy with the technical abilities I have with the new machine; which took care of the "older patches" feedback.My background is a musician -- session player and gigging. Not much in recording and producing.The critiques have been helpful, too an extent. As Clint so graciously and patiently helped me back at the office (great guy BTW), I was made aware that some of the critiquers/screeners will touch on the production and others won't. It kind of depends on their background in the industry. If it's a producer for example he may know how to articulate what he saying about production much better than an A&R guy who may or may not know how to technically tell you how to improve production. They just know there are issues.I was hoping I could ping this group for some ideas and/or troubleshooting on some of my current stuff so I can increase my scores in the production areas with an end result of possibly get my material forwarded/signed/used. If you're inclined to help; how can I improve? I have 4 samples listed with myspace done on my older equipment; www.myspace.com/soundkeyzproductionsThe song "Instrumental Blues" wasn't really written with a purpose for commercial-base use; it was a project born from inspiration and working with a talented tenor sax player. I posted it because I could see some uses with