Trying to make sense

Songwriting, songwriters, etc

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

songmaster
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Trying to make sense

Post by songmaster » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:29 am

I was just thinking the other day about us songwriters. If I am a doctor, the longer I have practiced the better I am, same for an engineer or a Tennis player, baker . candle stick maker. You get the idea. So why is it, that a seventeen year old kid, with very limited experience can write a hit song, while a songwriter with forty years experience, just keeps becoming more and more inept and out of touch ? Any 65 year olds writing hits lately?

Tom

Len911
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: Trying to make sense

Post by Len911 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:21 am

Really, there are 65 year old surgeons and tennis players? :o :lol: A brain surgeon just became head of HUD.

Many don't write hits anymore because by the time they play the previous hits, the show is over,lol!

For one, they don't have to. They do what they want and when. Didn't the Rolling Stones just release a cover album in 2016?

Franco Battiato is 71. I guess that means everything he has done since 2010 when he was 65, two albums, a single, an opera, a movie, and a biography!

By the time they are that age, they are the hit!

There is another post where I linked an article that basically said that the majority of the music sales were classics, so why would the classics write new songs when their old ones are selling better?? :lol:

What's Elton John been up to?

I guess it's like when child actors grow up they don't play children anymore, or an actress doesn't get as many leading roles and play grandmothers.
https://soundcloud.com/huck-sawyer-finn
Not an expert on contemporary music

Kolstad
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by Kolstad » Tue Jan 31, 2017 12:25 pm