What Am I Missing?

Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

macktastic

What Am I Missing?

Post by macktastic » Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:56 am

I dont know if I can post pictures but ill explain this as much as possible. I do have a picture of my studio in my Taxi Profile so maybe that will help. In my studio I have for recording

-MacBook Pro
-2 pairs of Yamaha HS speakers (5s and 8s) as well as the HS8 SUB
-Scarlett 18i20 interface
-Presonus Eureka Preamp
- MXL 990 Mic

I still feel like im missing something and I feel like my mix shows it. I'm not a professional engineer but I know the basics. Is there anything anybody would recommend to make what I have better in post production? (mixing, mastering) I want that punchy analog sound. I know I need gear to achieve that though. I am willing to send pictures of my studio if this thread isn't enough.

billhewett
Impressive
Impressive

Re: What Am I Missing?

Post by billhewett » Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:32 pm

What kind of music are you making? And what are you recording with the microphone? You will get more useful information if you can tell us a little more about what you are trying to do, and maybe even give us some examples of tracks you have recorded and some references that you want them to sound like.

That said, here is my best stab in the dark:

If you are recording multiple voices and instruments with a single large diaphragm compressor then the best bang for your buck might be as simple as getting something like an SM57 for ~$100. If you record all of your tracks with the same mic then they all have the same tonal colorations, so adding something different can be a big help. If you are mostly using virtual instruments and using the mic for just one or two tracks then this probably isn't what you need.