What is your daily schedule?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

AlonMarcus
Active
Active

What is your daily schedule?

Post by AlonMarcus » Fri Jul 01, 2022 1:25 am

Hello friends!
First of all I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Alon and I'm a composer from Israel.
I'm working my way in the "Library Music World" for a second year now and need some advice and brainstorming about working habits and daily schedule.
So, here are my questions:

1. How many hours a week you dedicate to composing/producing?
2. How much of this work hours dedicated to administration like uploading, tagging and how much for pure studying (playing an instrument, mixing, composition)?
3. What is your daily schedule? How you combine it with home, family?Other day jobs like teaching?

Paulie
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: What is your daily schedule?

Post by Paulie » Fri Jul 01, 2022 8:33 pm

I try to write music every day. I recently started a new job in the technology world so I've been away from writing for about a month or so, but I will get back to it soon. In general, I do my day job during the day, and I write at night. Finish work, eat dinner, then go into my studio and get to work. I have enough briefs to write for, so I am picking which genres I want to work on, and I just start writing. Depending on the genre I can crank out a tune or two in a single night... sometimes I just get projects started to be worked on later. If you want to generate any substantial revenue from writing you need to build a good sized catalog of work. Everyone works at different speeds, but I tell people to try and write at least one complete track per week. The more you do it, the faster you will get. Personally I try to average 4 tracks per week, or 200 per year. But that is on the high end for most writers for a variety of reasons.