What Track to Lay first

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ruserious

What Track to Lay first

Post by ruserious » Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:24 pm

I'm a guitarist/vocalist so I am used to laying down those tracks first and then filling everything else in. I've been told that i'm doing it backwards, that you should always start with percussion and then lay everything on top of that? I can see a point to this as doing it my way can get out of time. Any opinions out there on this?

nickbatzdorf
Impressive
Impressive

Re: What Track to Lay first

Post by nickbatzdorf » Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:28 pm

My opinion is that you should record the guitars and vocalists first, since that's what you want to record first. If you need to use a click, fine, but there is no "backwards."

davewalton
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by davewalton » Wed Nov 02, 2005 4:57 pm

Since the end result is the goal, how you get there is usually never an issue (or anybody's business). In golf if I hit my tee shot into the weeds, hack it out into a sandtrap, duff it up onto the green and somehow make my putt, I record a "par" for the hole and that's all that counts in the end.Sometimes I get inspiration from drum/percussion tracks, sometimes I have a musical idea and then audition different drum/percussion tracks on top of the music. Both ways have yielded good results.Be one with the universe,Dave

zink
Impressive
Impressive

Post by zink » Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:10 pm