Apogee Duet

Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

herminga123
Getting Busy
Getting Busy
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:04 pm
Gender: Male
Contact:

Apogee Duet

Post by herminga123 » Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:52 pm

I want an Apogee Duet because I heard they're awesome!! I am a keyboardist/digital piano player and would love to have the Duet but am holding back because of the lack of Midi. How do keyboardists/digital piano players get around this so they can access virtual instruments? I have a traditional midi digital piano (no USB port).

Also, if the Duet is firewire, I only have one firewire port on my imac. I was told it was better to save the firewire port for external drives (for samples and audio from my recordings). HELP! I want to buy the Duet but need more answers. Thanks!!

27" imac, 2.93 ghz i7, 8 gig ram, 1 TB

User avatar
t4mh
Serious Musician
Serious Musician
Posts: 1446
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:05 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by t4mh » Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:41 pm

You will need an interface between your keyboard and your iMac that allows your midi data into the computer that is running the VSTs. The midi data "triggers" the VSTs. Not sure what you need the Apogee for? Please explain.

HTH
Keith
I hear the voice of God in a bending guitar string!
Life is too important to be taken seriously
No electrons were harmed in the construction of this message.
http://www.t4mh.com

User avatar
kclements
Serious Musician
Serious Musician
Posts: 2110
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:13 am
Gender: Male
Location: West Michigan
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by kclements » Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:30 am

I use my Duet (which I love) to record vocals or other audio needs into Logic, and of course to listen to my mixes. For midi, I use a simple 2x2 midi interface from MOTU - the Fastlane - which has been a great little midi interface. I connect my master controller and a secondary keyboard to the interface midi in ( I don't use any midi out as all my instruments are coming from within Logic).

Also, with my new iMac (only one FireWire port) I chain my Duet to my HAD via the FW400 port and the my HD to the iMac via the FW800 port. Everything seems to be running very smoothly.

This setup really works well for me. And it is completely portable if need be.

hth
kc
kayle clements

When opportunity knocks, you better be dressed and ready to go!

clementunes.com | taxi | soundcloud

herminga123
Getting Busy
Getting Busy
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:04 pm
Gender: Male
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by herminga123 » Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:03 am

Thanks, kc. :D Do you have any latency issues at all? I play pretty heavy chording on the piano and am concerned about this. Also, do you record your audio to your external drive? Someone told me to get two drives: one for audio recordings and another for my sample instruments but with the one firewire, this would be a problem.....I would imagine.

27' imac 2.93 ghz i7, 8gb ram, 1TB

markjsmith
Committed Musician
Committed Musician
Posts: 796
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 8:15 pm
Location: Sunny Southern California
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by markjsmith » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:07 am

There are a few MIDI interfaces that are literally just a cable (one side MIDI one side USB).

User avatar
eeoo
Serious Musician
Serious Musician
Posts: 3541
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:26 pm
Gender: Male
Location: NorCal
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by eeoo » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:18 am

You can daisy chain your external drives...

User avatar
kclements
Serious Musician
Serious Musician
Posts: 2110
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:13 am
Gender: Male
Location: West Michigan
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by kclements » Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:22 am

herminga123 wrote:Thanks, kc. :D Do you have any latency issues at all? I play pretty heavy chording on the piano and am concerned about this. Also, do you record your audio to your external drive? Someone told me to get two drives: one for audio recordings and another for my sample instruments but with the one firewire, this would be a problem.....I would imagine.

27' imac 2.93 ghz i7, 8gb ram, 1TB
I don't have any latency issues that I can detect. Here is my setup: i7, 4gb,1 Tb HD. I use one external 7200 RPM HD for all my audio files and samples/instruments connected via FW800. Duet into the HD.. The internal HD is just for system and software.

I am a pianist by nature, so I really use the piano to its fullest - playing big chords and arpeggios... and I have no complaints. I also use a lot of Omni, Trillian, RMX and Kontakt 4 plugs and so far, not really taxing my system. I only have 4 GB of ram at this point, so I am underpowered as far as that goes. But I will upgrade my ram next week and really try to push this machine to see what it does.

I also record everything at 24 bit/ 48k. Again, so far, I am very happy with my setup.

kc
kayle clements

When opportunity knocks, you better be dressed and ready to go!

clementunes.com | taxi | soundcloud

herminga123
Getting Busy
Getting Busy
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:04 pm
Gender: Male
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by herminga123 » Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:36 pm

kc,

Thanks so much!! :D I can't tell you how much you've helped. Being a piano player myself, it has been difficult to find this kind of infomation. I was thinking of your set up exactly but didn't know if it would work. Thanks!!

Herm

herminga123
Getting Busy
Getting Busy
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:04 pm
Gender: Male
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by herminga123 » Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:41 pm

kc,

Can I ask you what external drive your using (brand specs, etc)? Thanks, again. By the way, I checked out your music....excellent!!

Herm

User avatar
kclements
Serious Musician
Serious Musician
Posts: 2110
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:13 am
Gender: Male
Location: West Michigan
Contact:

Re: Apogee Duet

Post by kclements » Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:27 pm

Hi Herm -

So glad I could help out. I have learned so much on these forums in my short time around here and it is really nice to be able to add to the wealth of knowledge.

As I mentioned, for me, the Duet and the Fastlane make a killer combo. I sometimes long for more than 2 inputs and hope to someday pick up either an Apogee Ensemble or RME to add to the mix, but for now, it works great. Also, I have always found MOTU midi drivers to be rock solid. And they are usually pretty quick with updates and fixes.

I am using this drive from OWC. I have purchased a few external hard drives and RAM from various companies and I have found OWC to be the best both in terms of service/support and price. 9 times out of 10 if I order something by 4 pm local time, I get it the next day. And I think the quality of their products is top notch. By the way, I got the drive with the eSATA+FW 800/400+ USB 2.0 ports. For the extra $25 or so, I think it is very worth while.

Cheers -
kc
kayle clements

When opportunity knocks, you better be dressed and ready to go!

clementunes.com | taxi | soundcloud

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest