Cubase Essential 4 vs Reaper

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Jeremy Michael K
Active
Active

Cubase Essential 4 vs Reaper

Post by Jeremy Michael K » Sun Aug 22, 2010 1:36 pm

What does Cubase Essential 4 have that Reaper does not?

I have been playing around with both for a while, and if anything, Reaper seems to be the superior product. Loads much faster, for one thing.

But for those out there who actually know their stuff, is Cubase Essential 4 the better product? And if so/if not, why?

mojobone
King of the World
King of the World

Re: Cubase Essential 4 vs Reaper

Post by mojobone » Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:52 pm

I think Cubase can have a few more separate monitor mixes, like eight instead of six, but I'm far from an expert on Cubase and jes' getting a handle on Reaper.
The Straight Stuff; Roots, Rock & Soul

http://twangfu.wordpress.com
http://twitter.com/mojo_bone

Mark Kaufman
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by Mark Kaufman » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:08 am

I'd choose Reaper between those two. I use Cubase 5. Cubase E4 is a very stripped down version with a lot of limitations that will soon annoy you, like very tight limits on how many effects you can use on a track, things like that. Reaper, however, is a full version of itself, and they continually update it for free. If you go Cubase, you'll probably want at least one of the "Studio" versions if not the full version...but the Essential is just too limiting--it's a big tease.

Jeremy Michael K
Active
Active

Post by Jeremy Michael K » Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:34 pm