Ear Problem - Tumor?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ernstinen
Total Pro
Total Pro

Ear Problem - Tumor?

Post by ernstinen » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:05 am

Hi My Friends,Man, I sure hope I don't join the ranks of composers like Brian Wilson or (gasp!) Beethoven --- Yesterday I got a real scare concerning the status of my left ear. I've been noticing something wrong for about a month, and went to a top-notch Hearing Clinic located here in L.A. They first gave me a hearing test, with headphones on, and I thought it was real cool while it was happening. (I thought it would prove my claim of being able to hear up to 24 kHz --- LOL!). Well, the test only went up to 8 kHz, and they found some problems, I'm sorry to say.Since I'm an audio engineer as well as a composer, I've always been careful with my ears, and am very aware of frequency graphs. But the graph they printed out showed a significant drop of over 20 db starting around 4 kHz. My hearing then got better going up to 8 kHz, but that's where the testing stopped, and my worrying started. The doctor didn't have to explain the graph to me --- I knew exactly what it meant. Big trouble for Ol' Ern. The Doctor of Otolaryngology wants me to have an MRI because of a possible tumor between the ear and the brain. The tumor is called an "Acoustic Neuroma," and presses on the 7th and/or 8th nerves coming out of the inner ear. If they DO find a tumor, and it's small and removed surgically, I have about a 50% chance of being able to continue to hear out of my left ear. I've been taking nightly walks to help clear out my negative thoughts --- just like Beethoven used to do when he was going deaf.Any thoughts are appreciated!Ern

Casey H
King of the World
King of the World

Re: Ear Problem - Tumor?

Post by Casey H » Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:42 am

Best wishes Ern... Think positive!We'll all be thinking about you. Please keep up posted... Casey

ernstinen
Total Pro
Total Pro