Midi Help!

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

michael11
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Midi Help!

Post by michael11 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:22 am

I've got a Yamaha PSR 2100 keyboard which has become more or less redundant since I started learning Logic Pro.What it has got though is a very nice on board harmonise facility.I would like to know if there is anyway I could hook the 2100 up to Logic Pro and would Logic read the Midi harmonies the way they play through the keyboard itself.I should say I am a complete technophobe and midiphobe in particular and I don't want to mess anything up.Any ideas please.
All's Well That Ends Well

www.michaelgaughan.rocks

zink
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Midi Help!

Post by zink » Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:26 am

Hey Michael,I don't think this is possible. I not sure what your mean by harmonize though. Do you mean the auto chord (holding down a chord plays a full rhythm)?Anyway, MIDI data would only include the actually notes your playing, pitch bend, the Mod wheel (if there is one)... Things like that. It wouldn't include effects such as a harmonizer etc....What you might be able to do is to send MIDI data to keyboard from Logic and have that trigger the auto-chord(if that's what your even talking about)Check out the section on MIDI in the manual. I'm sure it'll have a complete explanation of all the features.HTHZink

emusic
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Post by emusic » Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:29 am

My first guess would be NO but I´m also interested in hearing what you mean with that harmonizer. It might work, but the odds are it won´t.

sgs4u
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by sgs4u » Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:46 am

keep using your Yamaha with it midi'd in line. Or get hold of Melodyne Cre8t software.

ncc1701
Impressive
Impressive

Post by ncc1701 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 9:29 am