with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

TonySollazzo
Active
Active

What about EQ for sync?

Post by TonySollazzo » Sat Mar 28, 2020 12:23 am

Hi - recently there has been a bit of discussion about LUFS in topic144285.html

LUFS is more or less about overall loudness, and the general consensus seems to be (if I understood correctly) make it loud for sync submissions (i.e. louder than if you were mastering for spotify).

But what about EQ for sync?

Generally if EQ matters (like in edm or epic trailers for example they will ask for deep bass drops) then the listing will say so, but often you have to go by the references which can often vary.

Do libraries care if there is too much high or too much low, or don't they care becasue they know that whoever uses the cue/song/drone will adjust the high/low/volume as needed to fit the scene?

The reason I'm asking is because I'm new to this and wondering if what sounds great over a montage piece might be too hot for background.

ResonantTone
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: What about EQ for sync?

Post by ResonantTone » Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:33 am

Hey Tony,

Master EQ is very genre dependent, and even song dependent. What it kind of sounds like you're asking about is more along the lines of sound design, which addresses things like which part of the sonic spectrum to use when creating your track.

In other words, you wouldn't want to try and EQ in a bunch of sub-bass into an EDM track if you don't really have something there providing those frequencies in the first place. I mean, you can try, but it probably won't turn out well.

What you should probably focus on first is getting a good tonal balance throughout your track by utilizing correct instrumentation, good mixing techniques and training your ear to hear what's interfering with what. After that, EQ on your master can help your sound get that polished, 5% better sound.