Unusual PRO Question

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

RealPickle

Unusual PRO Question

Post by RealPickle » Wed May 22, 2024 3:01 pm

Hi all,

I'm still pretty new to the production music game, and a couple months ago I rashly signed up for ASCAP. Since then I've seen numerous things indicating that BMI is the preferred PRO for instrumental production music (and just generally) and so I'm regretting my decision to join ASCAP.

I have received my IPI number but haven't registered any music with them. I contacted them about cancelling but it doesn't seem like that's going to be possible (until my 2-year term is up)

My question is, what would happen if I just joined BMI? Since I haven't registered any music with them, does it really matter? Or would BMI know I'm already an ASCAP member and reject me? Complicating things is I actually did a legal name change (long story) and so my legal name is different than what ASCAP has for me (I haven't changed it with them yet).

Is there any precedent for ASCAP letting people out of their membership before their 2 year term is up? Should I just join BMI and pretend ASCAP doesn't exist? Should I suck it up and deal with ASCAP for 2 years? (I've received some forwards but nothing signed to a library yet)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Casey H
King of the World
King of the World

Re: Unusual PRO Question

Post by Casey H » Wed May 22, 2024 5:24 pm

Real Pickle
ABSOLUTELY do NOT join BMI while still as ASCAP member. You are not permitted to have two PROs in the US. It could cause you nothing but grief.