Sampler software

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

53mph
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:57 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Italy
Contact:

Sampler software

Post by 53mph » Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:39 pm

I wonder if anyone can help me out.I'm looking for a programme that will work as a sampler but allow me to build up velocity hits.I'm keen on sampling some unusual instruments but I want more than just the one note per pad that you get on standard samplers. I'd like to be able to have 3-4 velocity hits per pad/trigger.I stupidly bought a magazine with a free version of a programme called Samplitude se, thinking that it would be a sampler....what a misleading name.Any suggestions on where to look?

zink
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 4:19 pm
Location: NJ and You and Toxic Waste Too
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by zink » Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:54 pm

Hey Mr MphI really like Mach5. It's easy to use. Just drag your samples to where you want them on the keyboard layout. If you want to stretch them across a couple of notes or a couple of 8vas, it takes seconds. It can also do velocity splits. I also use Giga for my orchestral stuff. I don't think it's as easy to use, but I haven't gotten too far into making my own samples with it (since it's on a different computer than my DAW)Both programs can stream from the Hard drive.Zinkoh yeah, I think there's a thread somewhere around here about this. I took a quick look but couldn't find it

nickbatzdorf
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:25 am
Gender: Male
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by nickbatzdorf » Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:25 pm

The other main ones are Native Instruments Kontakt and (if you use Logic) the EXS24, which is built in. There's also Steinberg HALion.Or if you only need a light, RAM-based sampler (as opposed to one that streams from the hard drive), the one built into Propellerhead Reason works well.

53mph
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:57 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by 53mph » Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:08 pm

Thanks both of you.I've got a light version of Reason somewhere (I think), I'll check it out and see if the sampler is what I want.

nickbatzdorf
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:25 am
Gender: Male
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by nickbatzdorf » Wed Jun 07, 2006 4:59 am

Reason has two samplers: a 1-shot one and a more advanced one. You need the more advanced one. NNXT or something - I forget what it's called.

matto
Serious Musician
Serious Musician
Posts: 3320
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:02 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by matto » Wed Jun 07, 2006 9:33 am

53,if you're on a PC there may be less expensive solutions from smaller vendors that can do what you need (and maybe for Mac, too); if you search on kvr http://www.kvraudio.com/ you should be able to find out what's out there and you can research from there.Of course all the mentioned products are great (I personally use Kontakt and Halion), but they are a bit on the pricey side.matto

nickbatzdorf
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:25 am
Gender: Male
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by nickbatzdorf » Wed Jun 07, 2006 12:12 pm

I'd be wary of building a sample library in some cacamamie format. (Is that how it's spelled?)You generally get what you pay for, in other words.

matto
Serious Musician
Serious Musician
Posts: 3320
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:02 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by matto » Thu Jun 08, 2006 5:24 am

Well that's a good point, but if you look at installed user base and/or third party support, you could arguably count Mach 5 and NNXT under "cockamamie" sampler formats (not sure about the spelling either...).I think it really depends on the application...if you're in the market for a serious all-round sampler, I personally wouldn't recommend anything other than Kontakt, Giga, Halion or EXS ( but I don't think he's working in Logic or he would've come across EXS by now you'd assume...). These all have a large user base and are the ones supported by most 3rd party sound developers.If on the other hand you need something inexpensive for just one specific project, you do have other options. That's all I'm saying...So in other words, yes you do get what you pay for .matto

nickbatzdorf
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:25 am
Gender: Male
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by nickbatzdorf » Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:15 am

All true. You're even right about how to spell that word:http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=cockamamie

zink
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 4:19 pm
Location: NJ and You and Toxic Waste Too
Contact:

Re: Sampler software

Post by zink » Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:53 pm

Quote:you could arguably count Mach 5 and NNXT under "cockamamie" sampler formatsMach 5 can read a number of different sample formats. I put almost all of my Giga libraries into M5. I know some libraries have built in goodies, such as keyswitching (where you can play a key that's out of the instruments range and switch the samples across the board, say to switch from stac to leg) and I don't think that M5 supports that. It's easier for me to use M5 than GIGA because I can save my patches inside my project.but like matto said, it all depends on what your trying to do.Zink

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests