Which Sampler Should I Get?

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

mani
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 319
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 1:42 pm
Gender: Male
Location: NY
Contact:

Which Sampler Should I Get?

Post by mani » Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:02 pm

I'm going to be getting a sampler sometime soon. I'm thinking of either Halion 3 or Mach 5. I'm currently using Logic 5.5 on PC (windows 2000).Does anyone have any thoughts, suggestions, recommendations about which way I should go??Thanks

mani
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 319
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 1:42 pm
Gender: Male
Location: NY
Contact:

Re: Which Sampler Should I Get?

Post by mani » Fri Oct 28, 2005 1:01 pm

Hi Nick,I was hoping you might chime in on this! First I don't have the EXS. It only came standard with Logic after 5.5! Wish I did but I can't get it now until I crossgrade to Mac. I don't have any sample library at the moment so I'm starting from scratch. Therefore the quality of the sample CDs that ship initially with the sampler is a very important consideration for me. I'd heard nothing but bad things about the sample CDs that ship with Kontakt even though everyone agrees it's probably the most powerful sampler. Maybe you have a different view?? I have no interest in Giga at all. Every post I've ever seen about it says it's riddled with problems. Most people can't seem to run it at all without using a dedicated computer. So no go there.So I'm down to Halion 3 and Mach 5. I've heard only good things about the sample sets that ship with these.My concern about Halion is that I'm on Windows 2000 Pro and according to the Steinberg site Halion requires XP. I find that kind of hard to believe. Do you have any knowledge on that issue Nick?Btw, as regards usage I'm looking to play a lot of bread and butter sounds that will cover a wide variety of styles reasonably well. Y'know pop/rock/urban/electronica with some decent tools for tweaking. Any other tips, thoughts, suggestions welcome too!!

mani
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 319
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 1:42 pm
Gender: Male
Location: NY
Contact:

Re: Which Sampler Should I Get?

Post by mani » Fri Oct 28, 2005 5:09 pm

Like I said, I'm not arguing! I really don't know about it personally. I'm glad it works for you!My setup at the moment is really stable and I'm very happy with it. If I had my way developers'd be supporting W2K until 3005!!

ernstinen
Total Pro
Total Pro
Posts: 5658
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 6:59 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Which Sampler Should I Get?

Post by ernstinen » Sat Oct 29, 2005 8:21 am

Hey Mani,I've been running GigaStudio for 3-4 years with ZERO problems.I just installed Kompakt on another computer, and I must be doing something wrong, but the for the last 2 days it crashes repeatedly. I hope to get it working next week!Ern

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest