ProTools/Logic vs Cubase etc -

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

slideboardouts
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: ProTools/Logic vs Cubase etc -

Post by slideboardouts » Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:56 am

Sept 19, 2008, 10:45am, gunter wrote:Sept 18, 2008, 2:35pm, matto wrote:Haha...it puts you in the same boat as that "rank amateur" Hans Zimmer, among many others. I write music for a living and happen to use Cubase. I'm sure I could also make a living using Logic, or Sonar or DP...or even ProTools (but who wants to suffer... ).ProTools IS the standard for *recording* in professional studios (largely for historical reasons btw), but there is no professional standard for composing, and most professional composers use something other than ProTools to *compose* on.Don't listen to this fool...go write some music! mattoSo Matto that means you're an amateur! Chuckle, chuckle... Sorry but I had some Migro Ravioli today! The order of priorities is: Talented Performers with good material first, competent engineering skills a distant second, expensive outboard gear third and the choice of DAW dead last. But if someone wants to spend every 2-3 years a fortune and also 40% more for every Plug-In - ProTools is the way to go! Why every 2 or 3 years to spend a fortune? Because the computer industry changes the format every couple of years, and it's just not worth it. Apple has had NuBus, PCI, PCI 3 & 5, PCI on G5s, PCI-X, and PCI express on MacPro. Every time your PT cards got left behind! No thank you Digidesign/Gates/Jobs! That's why I see Pro Tools LE as a pitfall! IMHO - The best thing to get is Cubase, Performer or Logic and a powerful PC or Mac.Although Performer is heading to south. Unfortunately...Those are the most used other DAW's and this is important if you stuck and need help. Those are my thoughts exactly on the whole protools thing. PT just doesn't make much sense for the majority of composers. Its overpriced and its features (or