Pro Tools 8

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Post Reply
stick
Committed Musician
Committed Musician
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:43 am
Gender: Male
Location: Meadow Vista, CA
Contact:

Pro Tools 8

Post by stick » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:44 am

Version 8 is out and available to download (8 Gb!) or order DVDs. This is a BIG upgrade. If you use PT, you'll want it.

User avatar
willwillp
Getting Busy
Getting Busy
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:43 am
Gender: Male
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by willwillp » Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:23 pm

...looks suspiciously like Logic all of the sudden including a lot of the features that Logic offers...hmm....coincidence?Nothing like a little healthy competition to get Digidesign to step it up. Thank you Apple!

stick
Committed Musician
Committed Musician
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:43 am
Gender: Male
Location: Meadow Vista, CA
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by stick » Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:25 pm

Well, that may be true, but it's exactly what users have been asking for for years. I think the same could be said for all the major DAWs out there... PT was just lagging on the MIDI side a little, and now it's caught up finally. It's always been the best audio DAW out there.

User avatar
garrettmiller
Impressive
Impressive
Posts: 432
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 3:18 am
Location: California

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by garrettmiller » Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:00 pm

I've been checking out the threads at the DUC over the last couple months about PT 8... I really like the multiple playlist views, and Xpand 2 looks cool... I'm upgrading as soon as the dust settles.. Garrett

User avatar
mojobone
King of the World
King of the World
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:20 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Up in Indiana, where the tall corn grows
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by mojobone » Fri Dec 19, 2008 1:29 am

Dec 18, 2008, 3:25pm, stick wrote:Well, that may be true, but it's exactly what users have been asking for for years. I think the same could be said for all the major DAWs out there... PT was just lagging on the MIDI side a little, and now it's caught up finally. It's always been the best audio DAW out there. In every respect except sound quality; now if they'd just address the floating-point and truncation issues, we could all jes' forget about all that, and get on with making music.
The Straight Stuff; Roots, Rock & Soul

http://twangfu.wordpress.com
http://twitter.com/mojo_bone

stick
Committed Musician
Committed Musician
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:43 am
Gender: Male
Location: Meadow Vista, CA
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by stick » Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:59 am

I've made music on this "faulty" system for a lot of years. I still have people tell me that the one I recorded and mixed in the box with a ProTools III system is one of the best sounding records they've heard. Yeah, that was 16bit start to finish. If you can't make a good record on today's ProTools systems, the issue is NOT the technical limitation of the software. Not to start a flame war here, I just want others to realize that what you're talking about is NOT a reason to not record their music using whatever system they have, no matter what the limitation is. EVERY system has a limitation, whether it's technical or financial. For 99.8% of us, those "issues" you have with ProTools are far, far down the list of "weak link in the chain" of our music production process, whether gear, acoustics, or the person's skills. Well, all systems have weaknesses except the almighty and infallible analog tape, right? We CAN "get on with making music"... with ProTools HD or Garageband, or even on a {GASP} PC!Nothing personal here mojo... I realize people like different things. Do what you do on what works for you, and let us poor lost ProTools users muddle our way through. (Hey! That sounds like a song!)Ok, end rant...

User avatar
bigbluebarry
Serious Musician
Serious Musician
Posts: 1715
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 9:42 am
Gender: Male
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by bigbluebarry » Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:41 am

Dec 18, 2008, 1:44pm, stick wrote:Version 8 is out and available to download (8 Gb!) or order DVDs. This is a BIG upgrade. If you use PT, you'll want it. hey stick... have you had any problems with any of your plug-ins being incompatible with PT 8 so far? I think my wife is going to get me the upgrade for Christmas - Big Blue
Imagine a steel cage match between Daughtry, Coldplay, Paramore and Demon Hunter with Joe Satriani as the referee...

http://www.taxi.com/bigbluebarry
http://www.bigbluebarry.com
http://www.twitter.com/bigbluebarry

daniel481
Committed Musician
Committed Musician
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:18 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by daniel481 » Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:05 pm

Same question here, lemme know compatibility works out!

stick
Committed Musician
Committed Musician
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:43 am
Gender: Male
Location: Meadow Vista, CA
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by stick » Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:19 pm

Dec 19, 2008, 1:41pm, bigbluebarry wrote:Dec 18, 2008, 1:44pm, stick wrote:Version 8 is out and available to download (8 Gb!) or order DVDs. This is a BIG upgrade. If you use PT, you'll want it. hey stick... have you had any problems with any of your plug-ins being incompatible with PT 8 so far? I think my wife is going to get me the upgrade for Christmas - Big BlueMine probably shows up today or tomorrow... I didn't want to deal with the download. But, everything I've read says that if your plugs work with 7.4, they'll work with 8.0.The only catch is that 8 requires Leopard (10.5), and for me at least, I needed to upgrade my Waves bundle for Leopard. But, I hadn't be up to date with Waves since '05, so I was in need anyway. Other than that, I think it should be smooth sailing. If I run into anything I'll let you guys know.

User avatar
mojobone
King of the World
King of the World
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:20 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Up in Indiana, where the tall corn grows
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools 8

Post by mojobone » Fri Dec 19, 2008 3:04 pm

Just a gentle poke, that. I don't mind working in ProTools when necessary, just prefer not to pay such a hefty premium for compatibility's sake. To each his own, and rock on.
The Straight Stuff; Roots, Rock & Soul

http://twangfu.wordpress.com
http://twitter.com/mojo_bone

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests